tzamis

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Greek
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Dear RM Community,

I have a boss which is immune to a specific state (taunt). This was accomplished, obviously, through a trait.

My problem here is that every time an actor fails to apply the state effect, there is no notification of the enemy's resistance. Not a single pop up text. The only evidence out there for the player to notice, is the lack of the state icon above the enemy's head.

I would like to make the player aware of this situation, by having a text message appear every time the taunt effect gets resisted, but it seems harder than I thought. I couldn't come up with a solution through simple eventing and it seems scripting is the only way to go.

I'm pretty new to scripting and even though I manage to do other things in RMMV with a couple of code lines when needed, this time I hit a dead end cause I have no idea how to check when a specific action is occured.

Thanks for your time!

isyrium

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
You could have the skill use a common event and have a conditional branch to check whether the enemy was affected by the taunt and have an else branch with text saying that the enemy is immune.

tzamis

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Greek
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Haha, it's funny how sometimes the solution is so simple, yet you fail to see it! You sir, are the cure of my burnout! Thank you very much!!

isyrium

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
No worries ^^ good luck on the game!