Simple QoL idea when using a Face Set Template

Raths Rants

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
So in my "never to be finished project", each NPC has at least 4 face variations. These default to Normal, Happy, Sad, Mad. Every character has a custom face set and .json file if they have a dialog interaction with the player.

I'm forgetful, so I would constantly reference the template. The first row I never had much trouble with. The second row, well...

I normally use my templates externally when editing something specific that can't be handled in the generator. I have been doing it this way forever. Then I got the idea, why not just add the templates to the appropriate directories.

For me, I get the most out of making custom face sets. From characters to various icons. I feel they help enhance the dialog box.

I am sure most everyone knows how to import and use the character generator. I'm a hobbyist, my little project is for my enjoyment. So for me, using the prefab character parts is fine.

Skill Level: Novice

1) Place your template image in the proper directory. Your welcome to use this one. Free to use however you see fit, no credit needed. 100 other people have made the exact same set of templates.
2) Open the generator and make your character's face.
3) Click Import and select the template image.
4) Click Export and rename the image so you don't overwrite the original image.
5) Modify face image and re-import the new file. Choose a different tile spot. The face image will completely cover the selected tile space.
6) Click Export and overwrite the new file. This is to prevent multiple files for the same tileset.

000_Face_Grid.png
000_Face_Grid_tut.png

It's nothing groundbreaking or earthshattering. It's helped me simplify one more thing. This way I can continue to actually work on the important stuff like slacking, procrastination, and uhh progress...

- edited for formatting

Last edited:

WickedWolfy

Touch Fluffy Tail!