Simultaneous BGMs / Can I have two versions of the same song?

Lailia

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello,

I have looked around for plugins or for answers to this but have had little success so far, maybe I'm just not describing it correctly. What I want to do is this: I have two versions of a BGM track, when the conversation is normal I have a version without drums, and when the conversation gets intense I want the version with drums to fade in and replace the music without drums in the same place that the track was already playing at. So, for example, if I'm 45 seconds into the no drums BGM and then things get intense in the conversation I would like to switch to the drums version at 45 seconds in. Basically the engine could play both tracks simultaneously but have one at 100% volume and the other at 0% until they need to switch over.

Is there a way to do this? I have a little coding knowledge but it's C#, I've got no Javascript knowledge.

I've tried messing with the fade in times, etc but nothing is doing what I want.

Thank you!

Ossra

Formerly Exhydra
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Yes, you certainly can play more than one music file at once. I am not sure if there is a plugin that deals with that specifically, though.

The following is a very, very rough way to have two BGM playing at one time.

Code:
// Init Buffers
AudioManager._bgmBuffers = [];

// AudioManager.createBuffer(folderName, fileName)
AudioManager._bgmBuffers[1] = AudioManager.createBuffer('bgm', 'Battle1');
// audioBuffer.play(booleanLoop, intPosition);
AudioManager._bgmBuffers[1].play(true);

AudioManager._bgmBuffers[2] = AudioManager.createBuffer('bgm', 'Battle2');
// Set second BGM volume to zero ...
AudioManager._bgmBuffers[2].volume = 0;
AudioManager._bgmBuffers[2].play(true);

// Cross-Fade Buffers
// audioBuffer.fadeOut(intSeconds);
AudioManager._bgmBuffers[1].fadeOut(2);

// Set second BGM volume to 100%