single sprite size export from aseprite into RPG MZ

zantos

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Hello, I am new to pixel art and RPG maker. I made an animated character in aseprite with resolution of 160x160. I multiplied 160 by 3 and 4 to get the width and height for the single spite sheet but when I open the character in MZ it the image is cropped and looks too big for the RPG maker window. I know the standard RPG Maker resolution is smaller but I thought there was a way to do different sizes. Any help would be appreciated! Thank you.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
there are several things that could cause this, because the engine basically works the other way around.
The total picture size is divided by either 3 and 4 (single sprite) or 12 and 8 (spritesheet of 4x2 sprites) to get to the single cell size. So the resulting total pixels have to be divisible by those numbers.

then the decision to whether use single sprite numbers or spritesheet numbers is based on the filename. If the filename starts with a $ it will be considered a single sprite image. If there is no such symbol then it will be considered a spritesheet.

If that does not help you fixing the problem, then you'll have to attach the image for us to check and sort it out.

Shaz

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If you only have 3 columns and 4 rows, make sure the file name starts with $