ZoeyToonz

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
This is my first time using this forum so I don't know if this belongs somewhere else or was already asked before, but here goes. I'm trying to make a ton of my own abilities for my game, some of which have completely different uses in and out of battle. For instance, the ability I'm struggling with is a teleport. In battle, the user's party will just flee. Out of battle, you will be able to return to the overworld map. I have it coded in a way this works, until exiting my first battle. After that, the skill won't work out of battle. I know it has to do with the way my conditional branches are set up, but I can't seem to figure it out.

Also, I don't have a good name yet so, ignore the Japanese I guess...
If anyone is curious, I think it roughly translates to "A Kitsune's/Fox's Trial"
I could be horribly wrong...

Attachments

• Kitsune no Saiban - RPG Maker MZ 8_1_2021 5_42_26 PM.png
    Kitsune no Saiban - RPG Maker MZ 8_1_2021 5_42_26 PM.png
    102.9 KB · Views: 11

Milennin

"With a bang and a boom!"
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
What I'd do is run a common event at the start of every battle that checks whether an actor has the skill equipped, and if so, forget that skill and learn the battle version of the skill (requires 2 database entries for the skill, 1 for on-map, 1 for in-battle).
At the end of each battle, run a similar event that checks for these skills and swaps them back to on-map skills.

Tiamat-86

old jrpg gamer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
RMMV
my thing for this was plugin related.
learn 2 versions, field version has <hide in battle>, battle version has <hide in field>
it looks like the MZ plugin version is visustella's skill/state core in the skill accessibility notetags.

edit: i see in your event that you turned on an 'else' branch in the 2nd check and never used it.