Slow stepping speed beyond engine limitations

thepsyche

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Hi everyone,

For the first time since I started playing around with this program a few weeks ago, I finally got a sense of satisfaction out of making something happen on a map. It's just a basic dialogue scene, but to see things working how I intend, no matter how basic, is very motivating.

Anyway, to set the scene - I have an (enlarged) horse sprite at the start of the game, that I want stepping on the spot because he looks weird if he's still. Equally though - he also looks weird if he's stepping too quickly. Even the slowest setting (-8x I think it is) is much too fast. I'd like the horse to actually to stick on each frame for random amounts of time before going to the next one, in a perfect world.

Is this easily achievable?

Last edited by a moderator:

Matt Mats

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
Hi

I think you are in need of a script which allows to set a random frequency, but I don't know if something like this exist.

Maybe you should search for a script like this, because I don't have any possibility in mind to fix this with variables or switches :/

LadyBaskerville

Hell-poodle
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
You can also set a custom move route for your horse event that changes the sprite and waits for a certain amount of frames before it shows the next image of the animation. It wouldn't be random, but you can vary the length of the wait each time so that it looks somewhat random.

Hudell

Dog Lord
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Can be achieved with a single line of script, I'll check it once I get to a computer, but just to be sure: you changed the frequency or the speed of the event? 

thepsyche

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English