Panda

Level 15 Fluffy Bear
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
I've been working on a title sequence which is timed to the background music.

The problem is that the text is skippable with enter, ruining the background synchronization with the sequence and the music.

Is there are way to disable enter-skipping?

Last edited by a moderator:

Sindaine

Tired Gamerz Studio
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Hey Gentlepanda,

The only way I know how to do this is putting in the "wait" symbols in the text area it's self. IE: \| waits for a second, \. waits for .25 of a second etc. I tested it with 3 \|\|\| and the text box waited 3 seconds before I could hit enter. It may not be easy to time it with music this way, but it's an option.

There also may be a way to script something to do this, but I'm not that experienced with Ruby Coding yet.

Hope it helps,

Sindaine

Panda

Level 15 Fluffy Bear
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
Hey Gentlepanda,

The only way I know how to do this is putting in the "wait" symbols in the text area it's self. IE: \| waits for a second, \. waits for .25 of a second etc. I tested it with 3 \|\|\| and the text box waited 3 seconds before I could hit enter. It may not be easy to time it with music this way, but it's an option.

There also may be a way to script something to do this, but I'm not that experienced with Ruby Coding yet.

Hope it helps,

Sindaine
Tried the wait commands, but the text is still skippable. When I press enter, it will just skip all the waiting and finish the text. ;_;

Galv

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
Not sure how to do it without scripts. You'd think it'd be possible.

Well, add this to your script list and change the number in $game_switches[1] to be the switch ID you want to use. Turn that switch ON to make messages unskippable.

Code: