kn1000a

Golden Vampire Flandre
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Hello, I am very new to making visual novels in general. I heard about the newly-released VNM and want to try something with it, but I was wondering if the kind of routing format I have in mind is possible or not, before I start buying the engine and writing the script for the game:

vnmA.png

I'll elaborate: This is a rough plan of what my route format will be like. I want it to make sure a user go with one ending of the game first before hitting the true ending. If they pick the choice that leads to the true ending, then a bad end should make them restart the game, go with the other ending, then go and pick the choice to the true ending again.

Example: Person A, after seeing the question, picks Yes as an answer, it would
>check if a certain trigger is on. This trigger can only be switched on if the player finish first ending.
>since ending 1 was never reached, the trigger is not on
>thus they reach a bad end, and is returned to the main menu where they can play to that question and pick the No answer.

Example: Person B, after seeing the question, picks No as an answer, it would
>leads the player to ending 1, where the trigger is switched on.
>returns the player to the main menu where they can restart and now pick Yes
>since the trigger is on, the game will let the player access the third and final ending of the game.

**Also a side-note: Maybe an option from the engine where you can reset the switch or keep it by asking the player "Do you want to reset the game data?" and choices Yes and No. This is to make the bad choice available for players who haven't play that ending before but already finished the game, like person B.