Started with Don's Adventures - now dealing with MV

Discussion in 'Introductions/Farewells' started by V_Aero, May 7, 2019.

1. V_Aero

V_Aero Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    german
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hey folks,

I'm V Aero, or just Aero, I'm 25y old and just finished my studies in computer science. I live in Germany.

Years ago, when we were in 5th grade, a friend of mine got a copy of the old RPG Maker including Don's Adventures. We all furiously started making or own games and slowly learned what we can do with this tool. Remember, we were kids, although our games consists of RTP images only and had a very poor story - or none.

We upgraded to XP and I was the only one to deal with the scripts, so I made scripts for my friends. Since then I know that scripting is what I like most in game development. Later I spent some time with Ace, but never managed to finish a game. My problem is that I'm a bad story writer and I cannot create a long, stable story which makes sense and has no plot holes or logical errors.

TL;DR
    Some days ago I bought the MV. Still knowing I would never finish a 40h RPG, my plan is now to focus on my passion: programming. When I cannot keep up making an epic story, I can establish routines to procedurally generate maps and maybe a full game on it. The story of course would move more into the background, however I have my plans and ideas to still make a very good and fun game with enough content, surprises and secrets to explore. Before you say procedurally generation is too hard to develop, I already have managed to create mazes, and more features will come!

Best regards
    Aero

2. SepulcherGeist

SepulcherGeist Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV