Kuro DCupu

Trust me, I'm a veteran RMer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesia
Primarily Uses
RMMV
This tutorial may change your experience of how you use RPG Maker MV.

I must admit, I found this method long time ago by accident. I only have little knowledge of coding and can't call myself a proper programmer. As I never see anybody else has discovered / publishing it, I thought this would be groundbreaking.

What is this about?
Have you ever thought of how big your story and your dialog is and it will be a pain if you have to edit em or even keep em organized? "Can't we just store the whole text inside text editor?" Certainly that would be convenient. And this tutorial is the simplest form to achieve that.

Feature
  • Keep your story and dialog organized inside text file (js).
  • Might achieve new potential for databasing. Less hard-code inside the editor.
  • Teach you a bit about coding.

Requirement
  • Basic knowledge of how to use plugin.
  • Basic knowledge of using text editor.
  • Difficulty level : Adept

How?
Prepare your favorite text editor! We are making the plugin to store your text now! It's WAAAAY too easy that I doubt it could even be called coding.
  1. Make an object. Name it whatever you want. It's case sensitive.
    1591707077716.png
  2. Store your text inside a key whatever you name it following this format.
    sample_01 for example
    1591707116001.png
  3. You are done! Easy peasy, right? Save it as a js file with whatever name you like. Then put it inside yourgame/js/plugins folder.
    1591343998425.png
  4. Don't forget to activate it in your plugin manager.
    1591344053802.png
Yes, you may already access it directly through event!
  1. The proper way to access it is by using game variables.
    (It's CASE SENSITIVE, but I posted an outdated screenshot)
    1591344270875.png
  2. Your variable is now containing your stored text! Let's see it in action using show text~
    1591344385451.png
  3. Result :