Story based game

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 0sleepy0, Jan 7, 2016.

1. 0sleepy0

0sleepy0 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    I'm a bit at war with myself. I always wanted to write a novel but I'm not good at describing environment. So my main questions are:
    1. would a game strongly based on story (with some riddles or something) would get any attention? :unsure:
    2. do people (in general) enjoy RPG Makers combat and grinding more that the plot of the story? >_>
    3.(this relate to the first question) would you be interested in an episodic type game every two weeks or every month (basically story that would be regularly updated)? :popcorn:

I'm just curious, should I continue with my main project or start something new, more attractive to the general public  :rswt:

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2016
  2. Andar

Andar Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    German
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Please do not use red and blue in your texts as those colors are reserved for moderators

That said, your biggest misconception is probably that "in general" about people.

Some players will like every part of the components you describe, and others will hate them.

That is because there is no "avarage gamer" that fits everything.

For your points 2 and 3 there have been long discussions about them in the past, search for them and you'll get the answers possible.

0sleepy0 likes this.
  3. Celianna

Celianna Tileset artist Global Mod

First Language:
    Dutch
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Visual novels, or kinetics are a thing you know. RPG Maker is actually a fairly good engine for it. Just do whatever you want!

I'm using MV to make a kinetic as well.

4. Euphony

Euphony Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA