Tactical Battling and more advanced Leveling

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by Ahleingui, Mar 2, 2017.

1. Ahleingui

Ahleingui Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Greetings and salutations! I am Ahleingui and I am new to both RPG Maker MV and to this forum.

The last RPG Maker I played was in 2009, and because of school and such, I was never able to delve too deep into it. So I have some knowledge of using the basic functions of the game and coupling that with a long history of table top RPG's, I feel I could make a very interesting game.

I wanted to ask about two things, that may already have forum posts on, or perhaps some other people might have already struggled with and learned to overcome:

1) Is there a way to set up battles much like Final Fantasy Tactics? I would like the 'freedom' to implement both ranged attacks and positioning into the battles. That way I could effectively use a ranged class to DPS while my CQC characters would engage from close range. (also I know there are other games that do this tactical battle style, and some may do it better than FFT; I just merely used that game as an example of the type of battle I would like to have)

2) Having played D&D table top games for nearly 25 years now, I have grown accustom to the dice rolling and skill selection of that style leveling. A random number generation function might be a way to set up the dice rolling for hit points and such, but is there a way to change both the standard RPG Maker 'attributes' (attack, defense, luck...) into D&D-esk stats (STR, DEX, CON...) and change the auto-generated curve upon leveling into a point purchased stat increase system?

I want to thank anyone who views this for taking the time to read it over :D
    And if you have any advice on how to accomplish these changes, please reply so that I can make my game into what my mind sees lol

~ Ahleingui

2. Kes

Kes Global Moderators Global Mod

First Language:
    English