Bleed

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
Got a question for you guys, a bit technical in nature, and it's regarding RPG Maker MV.
I'm an artist by trade, Shop Link Here. I've done several jobs for clients on this forum, mostly low-profile, but gathering experience regarding the game engines you guys use, and all that.

Anyway, I've hit a bit of an obstacle with a recent client and looking to understand what MV sprites are and how are they defined:

- Is there a specific pixel size requirement, and can I go over/under said size?
- How many animations MV has and what kind. eg. Attack, Death, Jump, etc.
- Do they have a specific number of frames, and if so, how many?
- Is there only one direction for them, or do they have multiple?
- Mostly talking about battlers -- I think they're called.

Thank you in advance.

Yougotsomechocolate

Random Chest
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
An non plugin battler usually have 3 frames per attack, and each battler have around 12 different animations. There was a picture showing you what they were (Don't have it)

Engr. Adiktuzmiko

Chemical Engineer, Game Developer, Using BlinkBoy'
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Tagalog
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
If your client is only using the default SV system, check out one of the default SV battler files of the engine as that will show you exactly what animations are there, how many frames per animation, etc.

Bleed

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
@Bleed Here's a side view battler template with specs:
Thank you, that pretty much answers most of my questions. I'm guessing there's one direction only and it can be mirrored, if needed.
Now I just have to figure out if there's a specific size the sprites have.

Thanks guys.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
specific size the sprites have