Frostorm

[]D[][]V[][]D aka "Staf00"
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
My apologies if this is the wrong subforum. I'm a noob when it comes to art/photoshop and wanted to know/learn what techniques I could employ to change the skin color of this macho dude to that of this Orc (which is an edit I made from a much greener Orc lol), thx.
1594182810985.png1594182826321.png

Edit: Basically I want him to look like this but with the proper skin color.
1594183282785.png
No amount of hue shifting or anything like that was able to get me to the Orc's skin color...

Last edited:

mishakoc

Professional Procrastinator
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Czech
Primarily Uses
RMMV
You can do this with the pipette tool, it let's you pick up colours images. You pick (click) the lightest colour from the orc. Now it depends on your art program. If the bucket tool gives you an option of continuous filling/not continuous filling, you use the non continuous one which recolours all the instances of the colour in the picture. OR you look for "replace colour" button in the menu which lets you replace one colour with another.
This way you go from the lightest to the darkest colour until every colour is changed (which should be pretty quick since it's pixel art).

Devildimos

I ruin memes for a living
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Eglish
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I use GIMP for all my editing.
If you are interested I could give you a quick walkthrough how I use it

Frostorm

Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm currently using Asesprite and I guess my question should be: Is there a way to do this without going over it manually pixel by pixel?:kaosigh:

Hmm, I hadn't thought of using a replace color feature. I'll see if Asesprite supports this. If not, does GIMP support that feature?

Devildimos

Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Eglish
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Yeah. You just need to do it kind of manually.