The Knight of the Sad Figure
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Hello, folks. How are you?
Some people here already know me, I work as a literary editor. I often receive RPG Maker projects to review and I would like to discuss with you a small problem that I find in all of them. Have any of you already submitted a project to a proofreader or translator? Well, one of the problems caused by the way the RPG Maker works is to make our work immensely difficult. Or at least not encourage developers to collaborate with us. Here is an example. It sounds like a very simple message, right?

Let's see what it looks like when we are going to treat the text. Oh, wait, where is it? Well, certainly spread out on some map, inside some event page. Yeah, we'll have to look for it. And when we finally find it, look at what it looks like:

Code:
\c[9]\n[1]:\c[0]
Hello, \.\c[9]\n[2]\c[0]!\. Did you find the \i[147]\c[3]Sword\c[0]?\|
I've heard that it could be on the river.
God have mercy on this project. Or rather, those responsible for dealing with this text. The first problem is, of course, that the text is all over the place. The second problem is that the messages are infested with formatting characters. Make no mistake, little grasshopper. Your translator will charge you for characters, including each backslash embellishing your narrative. And believe me when I say that, alone, they can cost you dearly depending on the size of the project. Ah, it is also worth mentioning that the work in panning the text through the game also counts.

So, how do we solve this? The first thing to do is to organize the texts all together. We don't want to waste time looking for everything, message by message. A simple code can help, RPG Maker VX Ace even has a module that we can only expand:

Realize that we need to use double backslashes. Escape characters are called, which will consider the second bars as part of the text.