The history of your online username/avatar

Discussion in 'General Lounge' started by MushroomCake28, Aug 10, 2019.

1. MushroomCake28

MushroomCake28 KAMO Studio Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Some people here really have unique usernames and avatars lol. So it got me thinking, how did you come up with your username and avatar? Do you use them for different online account? Discuss and share your stories.

I'll start with mine. So when I was little (maybe 9-10), I was often at one of my aunt's place because both my parents are business owners and weren't home a lot. There, I always used my older cousin's computer and played the games he had. I just started playing Maple Story in his account, grinding for him. His account name was "MushroomCake". So from that moment, because I'm lazy and didn't want to come up with a username, I just stole his username lol. He didn't mind because he was off to university and stopped playing online games. So that's how I became the mushroom. Oh and my avatar was made by @Finnuval !

Frogboy likes this.
  2. Wavelength

Wavelength Pre-Merge Boot Moderator

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    The first time I used 'Wavelength' was a good 20 years ago on a consumer review site called "Epinions". The idea of it was of "being on the same wavelength", e.g. having the same views and opinions - I guess with the hope that would be the case, and my reviews would be more trustworthy as a result.

As I got really into that site, and that name started to feel more like my identity, I also realized that it just sounded kind of cool. Abstract. A bit science-y. So I started to stick with it when I signed up for other online communities (particularly GameFAQs) and online games.

Enbara, Frogboy and MushroomCake28 like this.
  3. sura_tc

sura_tc Loner Veteran

First Language:
    Korean
    Primarily Uses:
    Other