RMMV The Rest is Silence (No Travel Game Jam)

EuphemiaArtoria

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
My entry for the no travel game jam! This is my first time entering a game jam and I struggled a bit with the time so the result is a little on the short side. I hope I provide a memorable experience and I'm very grateful for any and all feedback!

The Rest is Silence is a short horror title, focused on making a moody atmosphere using lighting, weather effects and anything else I could scrape together. There is no combat, only exploration. I tried to explore the theme of isolation as best as I could. I'd estimate 5-10 minutes to complete.

The story: Adventurer Therese finds herself alone in a strange, quiet town, with only a vague letter to guide her.

Download: Available at Itch.io

Screenshots:

Credits:
Yanfly
Terrax
Lighting
BMSP

GoodSelf

Zhu Li! Do the thing!
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Oooh. Are there any jump scares? I might throw my laptop into a wall.

Zliryu

Ryu
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I like the atmosphere...but my questions is, where does the uncle sleep? Or was that just her room in the house?

EuphemiaArtoria

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I like the atmosphere...but my questions is, where does the uncle sleep? Or was that just her room in the house?
The Uncle lives in the house with the tunnel under it. The house with the red roof is normally unoccupied, and only has the one bed.

WaywardMartian

Is sometimes a giant bee
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I had a run through it. The atmosphere is nicely grim and I like the effect of the people vanishing when you get close.

- I hadn't been startled by the suit of armour, but Therese jumping back from it made me jump. :D