shadefoundry

Is Sinistar
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
So I've been working on my first project for a few weeks now. It's nothing particularly original and since I'm a pretty god awful writer, the characters have very little personality and the story is more of an excuse to send the characters from point a to point b than a full story with a goal or point, or anything like that. Simply put this is no Chrono Trigger. I'm personally having fun with what I've created and I've decided to build this thing in a way that I can tell many small stories with the same characters as I expand my design and writing skills.

So my question is should I really think about releasing my little pet project? Or should I keep it to myself and use it as a learning tool? I feel that the best way to learn is to put your work out there for criticism, but I'm also aware that with me being a novice game designer my work is going to be pretty generic. Any thoughts?

Last edited by a moderator:

Sanct

Password Unenthusiast
Reaction score
First Language
Serbian
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Well, if you can handle criticism and can learn from it accordingly then you should totally post the project.

It would be an even better learning tool if people could tell you what you could do better or about features the engine has that you didn't previously know about. For your first project it's pretty important that you get familiar with the engine's basic features and in the late development possibly the more advanced features (I'm speaking from experience). Now again, it's really important that you're able to take criticism well, if you can't then well uh, you should work on that first before submitting your project for people to play (I'm not trying to be rude, sorry if it comes of as rude).

Also most importantly: Is it entertaining?

If the answer is yes, you should be fine.

If not then try working on it.