Time based character movement

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by RolandGAMES, Mar 4, 2017.

1. RolandGAMES

RolandGAMES Villager Member

First Language:
    German
    Hey!

I wanted my Characters to move around Town at specific times like in Games such as Harvest Moon. I know that I have to transfer my Characters at specific times etc. etc. and I already have a working Time System.

My problem ist, that I want the Player to be able to talk to the characters while they are walking around, but since there is no switch/ variable or transfer control in the auto routes, I don't know how I could do this. Is there any plugin or way to do so?

2. Doombringer

Doombringer Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Hey, I'm fairly new to the RPGMaker MV myself, only a few hours in, but from a programmer's point of view (not Javascript) (also, I don't know if this is even possible in RPGMaker MV), you could use the Region IDs and map out the tiles each NPC is walking on during their certain time and if the player is on one of them and the NPC is next to him; use a keyboard button to start a conversation.

Also, the Region IDs should be put in lines of 3 (picture "2"). That way, no matter which tile the player is on, as long as it's the one right next to the NPC, he'll be able to interact with them.

The only problem I see is if Region IDs cross. No clue what to do about that though.

Sorry if this isn't even remotely helpful. I'm still quite new to this.

Attached Files:

• 2.JPG
      2.JPG
      File size:
      58.7 KB
      Views:
  3. RolandGAMES

First Language:
    German
    Well it's something haha! But I think most of the characters will cross their ways and/or be sometimes next to each other so.. but thanks for the idea!

4. Trihan

Trihan Speedy Scripter Veteran

First Language:
    English