Inkarana

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Hello people,
so I tried to use a timer and if it runs out, it should trigger a game over - but it doesn't.
It starts its countdown, but when the timer reaches zero, nothing happens. Switch 27 works just fine, even when the timer reached 0:00.
Can you please help me? Thanks in advance!

Timer 1.png
Timer 2.png

Mhin Ra

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
I've never used the Control Timer before, but looking at the code (and doing some brief experiments), I think all that happens on a control timer ending is that the current battle is aborted... which doesn't seem like what you want.

I think you can probably get what you need with a Timing -> Wait (1200). (1200 = 20 seconds * 60 frames\sec) If the UI refuses to allow more than 999 (which, IIRC, it does) you can either do two wait(600) right after one another or use a script like this:

1200.times { Fiber.yield }

which is all that the wait command in the UI actually does.

As a side note: your first page is Autorun, which means it will block user interactions while it's active (which it will be for the entire duration of the wait). If what you intend is to let the player run around and do stuff while the timer is active, then you probably want to make the page with the big wait parallel as well. I think parallel events do not tick while the message window is up (FWIW), but you probably don't want to put up any text boxes while the player is in a timed event anyway.

Hope that helps!

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
What's on page 5?

As soon as you set the timer, page 4 will be active. It will do the check to see if the timer has reached 0 (which it won't have), so will turn on switch 27. If page 5 is conditioned by switch 27, that will immediately become active, and your checking will stop.

Inkarana

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
German