Tips/Stuff newbies NEED to know before you make a game in RPG makers (mostly MV)

tae_ka_pre

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMXP
Stuff I didn't know and took me like 3 whole months before realizing they were a thing because I was too stuck thinking people are just making it complicated.

Note that these tips kinda require you have a basic knowledge of events and the basic stuff about game making.

I'm a newbie as well but this is mostly some good stuff I realize being a newbie for so long

People gave beginners mostly the simplest tips, design a map, use switches, make events, use the correct bgm, make enemies, party members, treasure chests etc etc.

The tutorials I saw spoke about only the basic stuff as well and never shared enough info to make a better than just a simple game. They also started talking about how you should make this and that event first before telling you, you also could just not remake the same events over and over.

Don't get me wrong, I love people who try to teach us stuff, but maybe the ones I saw just kinda didn't focus on the most important stuff.

Before we start, if you're reading this and you don't have an account here, MAKE ONE. Most resources you'll use would require an account here.

To start it off, if you want to make a unique and colorful game, download an picture editing software. I prefer gimp over photoshop since it's free, but if you have photoshop, then use it.

Second, if you want to make better, varying characters for rpg maker mv, download the extended rpg maker mv generator from schlangan.
Here: https://forums.rpgmakerweb.com/inde...0-07a-update-on-the-28th-december-2016.56569/