Tricky Eventing - Skippable Event

Discussion in 'Non-Maker Specific Tutorials' started by Kuro DCupu, Sep 5, 2019.

1. Kuro DCupu

Kuro DCupu Trust me, I'm a veteran RMer Veteran

First Language:
    Indonesian
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    This eventing tutorial works with most RPG Maker.

I must admit, that even though it's NOT PERFECT and INCONVENIENT, this is probably the most relatable way of making a skippable content in your game.

What is this about?
    Common question from most player : "Can we skip the cutscene?"
    Yes, this tutorial is trying to answer that very question.

Requirement
    • Basic knowledge of how event works.
    • Understanding of how parallel process actually works.

How?
    It's actually so simple (it just tricky) that I can't put difficulty rating to this tutorial and could be explained with just a few sentences.
    1. Your main event will just contain a loop, waiting for a button trigger.
      upload_2019-9-5_1-6-16.png

2. Add an extra page with parallel process trigger which contain your actual event.
      upload_2019-9-5_1-4-34.png

Full explanation
    What happens there, you just make two event page running at the same time. The true nature of parallel process event is that it immediately run when the condition are fulfilled and immediately cut-off when the condition are not fulfilled. You can say that parallel event is actually a fake event that run on different line than the normal event. Making use of this trait, you use self switch A to trigger your skippable content while actually you are trapped inside a loop waiting for a button trigger. And when you press that button, you instantly ended the parallel event.

Points to be noted
    • If you want the event to wait for the player input, it's necessary to trapped the event inside a loop.
    • Always leave breathing space (at least wait 1 frame) when using loop.