Trying to count steps for a hidden food stat.

tomexplodes

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I'm going for an Ultima VII style food system, where over time (or steps in this case) your character's food bar, which isn't shown, will degrade. At certain intervals, say 75/50/25% of the food value, your character will remark that they are peckish/hungry/famished/starving/whatever.

I'm having real trouble getting this going because I can't figure out how to count steps with a common event, or at all. Know that I have some experience with this program, but I also have MS so sometimes simple stuff goes over my head. I'm looking for a very straightforward explanation of what I need to do to implement this system. Sorry, that sounded demanding, I totally didn't mean it to! If anyone has the time/inclination to help, I'd super appreciate it! Thanks in advance,

Dead Tom Dragon

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
control variable - game data gives you access to a lot of different numbers, and one of them is the number of steps taken since game start.

then you just use the modulo operation on the current number of steps to decide if you need to reduce food or not (a conditional branch with steps modulo 30 = 0 would be true every 30 steps for example).

tomexplodes

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I'm very sorry, could you sort of type it to me in game terms so I know where/what to reference? I have trouble with this stuff, I'm super sorry about that. (EDIT: Probably makes you wonder why I'm trying to use complicated formulas for things if I can't even grasp basic concepts right away, haha)
control variable - game data gives you access to a lot of different numbers, and one of them is the number of steps taken since game start.