Unknown Designation - Story driven, Sci-Fi RPG

Discussion in '2014 Indie Game Maker Contest' started by xeroborn, Jul 1, 2014.

Tags:
  1. xeroborn

xeroborn Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    [​IMG]

edit 7/29: updated the links section with a new link to version 2.

Introduction

Hello, everybody.

I made an RPG for the 2014 IGMC titled 'Unknown Designation'.

I had two goals when I decided to make a game for this contest. One was to tell a story (my background is in writing short stories and novellas). The other was to make menu-based combat as interesting as I could, and try to fix some of the more tedious elements of playing a JRPG style game. All in under an hour of gameplay.

Story Logline:

'Unknown Destination' tells the story of Reika, a human created by a space bound colony of AI's, and is about her struggle to break free from her lonely existence.

Gameplay Features:

- When you level up in my game, you don't gain new skills. Instead, the skills are tied to weapon and armor sets. Each set has different skills bound to it, that use different resource management systems, and provide different passive bonuses. The sets function as unique classes. There are 3 of these sets in the game that can be switched out at any time you are not in combat (well, after you find them, you can switch any time).

- The Weapon/Armor sets work as follows: