acardilini

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
G'day All,

I am very new to RPG Maker, but am really impressed with what I have seen.

I am interested in using a second language within a game and am wondering if it is possible. I would love any of your thoughts and feedback on the idea. I want to caveate that I don't know what I am talking about so I apologise if the language I am using is wrong, I would be happy to be corrected.

Second Language in Game
  • Players start in an area where there is a mix of languages, i.e. 95% english and 5% target language.
  • They aquire target language vocabularly through conversations and adventure.
  • They USE target language vocabularly to speak with specific people, access specific options, do certain things.
Second Language Game Mechanics
  1. When a new target language word is encountered it enters a COMPENDIUM.
  2. Words in the compendium are KNOWN, they have an english translation, or UNKNOWN, there is no english translation yet.
  3. Known words can be used in the game in order to access answer certain questions or achieve certain things.
  4. Players must search for the definitions of unknown words so that they can start to use them in game.
Technical Stuff - The following questions are really just to feel out whether something is technically feasible within RPG Maker.
  • I have searched for bilingual, multilanguage plugins but have only found things for changing the entire game to a different languange. Do you think it would be technically possible to write a plugin that handles two languages in game?
  • Alternative to a bilingual plugin do you think it would be feasible to create target language vocabulary and compendium entries as items?
  • Do you think it would be possible to create a plugin that would allow users to 'look up' words during conversations, e.g. search their compendium for word meaning.