Ailius

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
This is half a gripe, but I also would like to know if this works.

So, there's this RPGmaker game on steam with a $5 price tag that has about half the content of the $1 game I'm selling. No surprise why I can't market mine...I'm not an artist. I simply lack the skills to make good advertising.

So now I'm noticing the author of the other game has started a Kickstarter...if they get the money, they'll hire somebody else to make the art. So then the artist will make good advertising for them, day one they already have a profit and have made headway in marketing their product.

The way I look at it, using Kickstarter or ******* is pretty much begging, and that goes against my conditioning. Then again my conditioning is why I never got paid adequately for the sacrifices I've made, so maybe I need to change with the times.

Sa8er

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
As someone with a degree in economics I can tell you that it's better to appeal to your consumers and not care about how well others are doing with similar products. If your consumer base is happy with the product they'll likely be willing to spend more money on future productions, so in theory if you sell your game for $1 while this other creator sells theirs for $5 at half the content, then mathematically speaking you've free reign to sell yours at $10. Unless there's something about this situation that I'm missing here.

Kupotepo

Fantasy realist/Advocatus Diaboli
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Thai
Primarily Uses
RMMV
@Aillius, hello nice to meet you for the first time. I do not know anything about the kickstart. But you ask for the marketing tips or how to set up the kickstart? I am not sure, sorry.
I hope this helps you.

Last edited:

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ