RMMV Valley of Challenge (first attempt at RM)

Lynx Cat

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello there! This is my first attempt at an RPG Maker game, so please be forgiving :hswt: I'm using only standard RTP material, not just resources but even heroes (renamed and reskinned though) and enemies, as well as "standard" gameplay, just to get myself acquainted with game design. My goal here is to get a hang of game balance and flow and such.

Play online (itch.io website) - REVISED

Synopsis: Explore the five dungeons of the Valley of Challenge, battling monsters and acquiring treasure along the way, while aiming to fulfill the quests you will be given at the Adventurer’s Hall. Valley of Challenge is a classic turn-based fantasy RPG where you take the role of Laurasia the elven mystic fencer, Guthred the warrior, Alberic the mage and Ellania the archer-priestess, who find themselves drawn to a mysterious world where their abilities will be put to the test. Featuring five regions, each with its own Adventurer’s Hall where characters can rest, buy equipment and acquire quests; a wilderness area with custom encounters; a dungeon, with treasure and monsters; a boss guarding each dungeon; and a final boss in the end of the game. Help the four heroes defeat the ultimate evil to uncover the secret purpose of the Valley!

This game is rather simple in plot and structure, as it’s meant mostly as a test to get myself acquainted with game design. Therefore, feedback is greatly appreciated, especially in regard to things such as map and dungeon design, difficulty, monster/treasure/etc. balancing, and so on.

Screenshots:

intro.jpg ashton.jpg dungeon.jpg battle.jpg laurasia.jpg

Last edited:

padr81

Guy whose game is taking too long.
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
N/A
One bit of advice I can give you is your maps are too square and too empty.