Versatile combat style and equipment slot

Discussion in 'Game Mechanics Design' started by Kuro DCupu, Nov 18, 2017.

1. Kuro DCupu

Kuro DCupu Trust me, I'm a veteran RMer Veteran

First Language:
    Indonesian
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Ever like the idea of using bow to slap your enemy? Using sword as throwing weapon? Or dual wield shields as your main melee weapon? That might sounds silly yet interesting, right?

Your standard equip slot feels restricting. Warrior are too proud to wield dagger, Mage are too dumb to use sword, etc. It's essential for the character itself to stick to their roles for story sake, but not for "build your own character" type RPG. Most popular example for this would be Skyrim. But what I'm about to discuss here is up to the level of silliness.

I'm working on equipment slot mechanic that is trying to cover all possible combat style that you can imagine, so I came up with this.

default equip.png
    Overview of the equipment slot when you wear absolute nothing.

I divide the weapon slot into two category for close quarter and long distance. By weapon here, I mean everything that can be wielded. That's how shield can be considered as weapon and how you are able to put them in any weapon slot. There are other style for both close quarter and long distance based on what and how you equip your stuff.

Close Quarter Combat
    • Martial Arts : Active when equipping gauntlet, claw, tonfa, nunchuk, staff, or nothing. Bonus to evasion.
    • Two Handed : Active when equipping single heavy weaponry. Bonus to damage.
    • Shield Fighter : Active when equipping shield(s). Bonus to protection.
    • Dual Wield : Active when equipping two weapon in both slot. Penalty to damage. Penalty to hit rate if heavy.
    • Free Armed : Active when equipping single light weaponry. Bonus to hit rate and critical rate.
    Long Distance Combat
    • Throwing : Active when equipping nothing in shoot slot and anything in ammo slot. Bonus to damage.