Viewport for dummies?

Bethins

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
What exactly does viewport do? I've only encountered it with the default help window so far. I understand that it has something to do with layers, but why would you need multiple layers in the help window? I'm still a noob, so be gentle please :)

Venka

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
think of the screen has sheets of paper stacked on top of each other. So one sheet will have all the information about the map. In that sheet you can have stuff drawn above or below elements in that sheet.. like your character could walk behind a tree or in front of a bookshelf.

I'm not well versed on all the layers.. but I believe one does weather effects. So no matter what you do to your map layer, the weather layer will always be on top of the map layer. This prevents stuff like ran drops falling behind tall trees and looking all wierd.

Windows are usually (but not always) put into their own layer so they don't get layer glitches. Like maybe your map has a picture called when you open a text message. Well if the viewport are set wrong.. then perhaps your picture prevents your message window from being seen.

That's the purpose of viewports.. they just hold visual sets of information that you can do things with. Like screen shaking uses the map viewport and moves everything in it all at once instead of you having to go and determine everything that you want to shake and then moving them all individually.

This could probably be explained better, but that's the basics.

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Yeah, that's pretty much it.

In the RTP, all the menus have only a single viewport - they don't "layer" stuff like the maps do, though you can still put things in front of or behind other things by changing the individual sprites' z-values.