RMMV Viridescent Dragon RPG -Demo- Feedback

Discussion in 'Ideas and Prototypes' started by Viridea, Apr 29, 2018.

1. Viridea

Viridea Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Viridescent Dragon RPG -Demo-

Hi everybody! For a bit of background, I worked a bit with RPG Maker VX Ace and MV in the past only to leave projects unfinished. I want to try to change that by making this game. It's not trying to be the best RPG maker game in the world but I would like for it to stand out. I just started working on this about a week ago. I'm not very good at mapping or animating or creating battle formulas and I'm basically a newbie at writing stories (I don't think I'm a horrible writer either). I consider myself more of an artist but I haven't drawn anything specifically for this game as of yet. I do not know how to make my own sprite art, and I'm kind of lacking in funds for too many expensive resources (Which is why I try to stick to free and open source resources).

I would like some feedback on my game demo. How is the dialogue? Are there any obvious bugs? (I can think of one right now I forgot to fix but ah well...) How is my mapping? Also, will my using RTP sprites make or break my game as it is now? (I'm familiar with Parallax mapping but never tried it myself.) Finally, would it be better for me to create monsters? If so, how many? (You can only go so far recoloring RTP monsters...)

I know this is a lot, but any feedback is appreciated! I'm not looking to make a super long game, but I hope it will be fun and memorable at the least. By the way, yes this is just me working on the game. I know that's a huge task ahead of me to make this game alone but I won't feel alone if you guys can support me. :) Thanks a bunch!

SECTION A: GAMEPLAY MECHANICS