VX vs. MV?

Seafayste

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVX
Heyo, sorry if this is the wrong place I am very new to all this.

I recently wanted to get into rpg making for fun and tried the Lite version out of RPG Maker on Steam. I loved it and bought RPG Maker VX, but joining the forums and seeing how VX seems to be a little neglected and MV has much more tutorials for me to look at I'm starting to feel like I regret not putting in the extra $30 for MV instead. Is it way more worth it? I've been getting frustrated trying to learn VX and not having as much flexibility I feel like I want. Is MV much better?

Warilized

Random Encounter
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesia
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Imo MV has more utilites than VX.
MV is written in HTML5 which pretty much compatible with any device so you wouldn't need any converter to a certain extent.

MV is worth it because you can pretty much do anything VX can but better.

Black Pagan

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Well, I have spent equal time making Games on both so here is my Perspective on it :

VX / VX Ace - Pros and Cons :
- Very simple, Which means you will be on your way to make your first Game in no time
- Uses Scripts and these can sometimes cause Serious bugs, Hindering Game progress
- Falls short on Mapping and Customization features for your Game
- Perfect for making Short Games, Database in some places is far more simpler than MV

MV - Pros and Cons :
- Has a Default side battle system and all the complex features that VX / VX Ace lacks
- Uses Built-in Plugin system, i,e, Better version of Scripts, Less Bugs and Way easier to use
- Because it has More Features, Takes much longer to Make / Plan / Test your Game
- Perfect for making Longer and Complex Games, Because it supports many Batches of Tilesets