Weird bug with dithered/ non dithered parallax

tyler8101

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
(This was copy and pasted from what I asked on r/RPGMaker. I am asking here to see other solutions.)

Hi.

I am a beginner with RPG Maker VX Ace, so this is probably easy to solve, but I could not find any way to fix this online.

I am having a problem with importing a image as a parallax. The dithered version of the image I want to use as a parallax keeps becoming transparent is some spots. But the non dithered one come out with no trouble. Both images are .png and have a added alpha channel via GIMP.

Undithered

Dithered.

The non dithered version does not bring up the option to make transparent/translucent while the dithered one does. I would honestly like to find a way to avoid this option all together.

Kes

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Have you tried copy/paste direct into the parallax folder instead of importing via the Resource Manager?

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
The non dithered version does not bring up the option to make transparent/translucent while the dithered one does.
the color variant of selecting a transparent color usually comes up when the resource manager does not find an alpha-channel for real transparency.
Those are two entirely different ways to handle transparency, and usually the alpha-channel is the better one. But from your description it seems that something is really messing up how the alpha-channel stores its data, either destroying it (and forcing the color-replacement to become active) or making the wrong areas of the picture transparent.