What are the "unwritten rules" of going commercial?

Slimsy Platypus

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
I'm new to RPG Maker and have set the ambitious goal to make a game for commercial release.  I'm trying to guage my bearings a bit and understand what the exact hurdles I need to jump are to even give me a shot at a minor success.

Are edited default tileset resources a complete shot in the foot here (i.e. do I need to create all my tilesets from scratch to achieve any level of success)?

Should I avoid using the character generator pieces (i.e. make my own map sprites and SV battlers)?

Animations, sound effects, etc., do the defaults all need to go?

What else are some general traps I should be aware of?  

I'm working on getting a demo of my game out now, and I'm trying to do everything I can to put it in a good position.  Unfortunately, skill wise, I'm not sure I can do it all myself, but I'm committed to doing what I can.

Thanks any and all for any feedback!

Last edited by a moderator:

Zalerinian

Jack of all Errors
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
If you want to run a kickstarter or something like that, edited resources will be fine. The main thing about getting a kickstarter to grab attention once people see the page is to show them you put effort in and that you have a plan for improvement. Editing tiles to better fit your game at least shows people that 1. You have an idea of what you want it to look like aside from what's been given to you, and 2. You put in the effort to change things to better fit your game.