What mechanics do players expect in RPG Maker games?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PrincessRapunzel, Jan 9, 2018.

1. PrincessRapunzel

PrincessRapunzel Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hello everyone! This is my first real post here. Apologies if it's in the wrong place.

I've been writing little games for a while now either in BASIC, C, and Unity. When I first started with RPGM VX Ace I did a little game that I wrote as a parody/satire/gimmick while I learned the ropes. I must have included three dozen gaming tropes in that effort and I had fun doing it. I'm far from an expert and I still consider myself a newbie game designer.

Now I'd like to try my hand at designing my first serious RPG using MV. One that I'd send out for others to try. But I'm a bit stuck on how to approach that sort of effort. Moving from newbie test-world building to a serious work is a challenge I'm finding.

I'm used to having objects in-game be interactive. I'm a fanatic of Elder Scrolls games and if you've played them you know that quite a bit of the world you can interact with. Boxes, barrels, doors, fireplaces, books, animals, people, etc., etc.

Do players of RPG Maker type games expect similar experiences? Must I event everything so that characters can interact with them? It sounds tedious to do so, but if that's what's expected these days then I'll do it.