captainette777

Mad Scientist
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Asking as a person who has never tried it before, and is now considering it. What is your favorite one to use, what program did you start using in the beginning, what's the easiest for a complete noob like me to get into, what's affordable/free, and what creates the best looking work for you or fits your game's needs the most?

mlogan

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I use Gimp, because it's free. I've gotten used to it, to the point that trying to work in Photoshop at one point felt frustrating to me.

IAmJakeSauvage

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I mostly use Photoshop because I'm comfortable with it - but I also really like Pyxel Edit (@Sharm recommended it to me and it's super intuitive)! There's a free version, but I purchased the beta so I can't really comment on it: http://pyxeledit.com

Edit: I have to say that the reason I probably love Pyxel so much is because the UI/tools remind me of photoshop but it cuts out all the crap you don't need and makes it a lot simpler to work with.

Jonforum

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
French
Primarily Uses
RMMV
photoshop + texturepacker
very affordable for work

DianteC

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Photoshop mostly. I've used it since Highschool so it's what I know. I use Paint Tool Sai and Clip Studio Paint as well, but photoshop is my favorite.

Jonforum

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
French
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I don't know if anyone really considers photoshop "affordable" these days. :kaojoy:
everything depends on your priorities in life.

My friend is treating me rich because my pc for my work has value of 4000$
He does not find it affordable.
But this same guy has pay Mags for his car has 4000$

And not to mention his sound system.