bgillisp

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
In this tutorial I'm going to go over things that every game developer should consider and decide on *before* making their dream RPG in RPGMaker. A lot of this is based on my 6 years here on the forums, and what I've learned as a game developer myself.

1. Learn the Engine
This step sadly gets overlooked, and should be the first thing anyone does. Learn how the engine works. Learn what all of the commands do. Learn how to use the engine to do things. I'd recommend finding some tutorials on this, or there is a built in help with F1 in MZ that can help you learn. Or, worst case scenario, make a project and just try every event command and see what happens. That's honestly what I did in 2014, and I got some very silly results due to not understanding the engine (tip: Never put an A1 tile in a B slot or vice versa unless you wanna see weirdness).

2. Plan out your game before starting
Too many people paint themselves into a corner in game making. By that I mean they just rush ahead in the story then realize late that their game is in a bad spot because of things they didn't do right in the beginning. I've even seen AAA companies do this and I've read interviews with the company where they have admitted they got to x spot and didn't have the final bad guy figured out but it was too late to go back to the beginning and lead up to it. You want to avoid doing this to yourself too especially as you have less resources than AAA companies, and speaking from experience, going back to Chapter 1 2 years later to make it better lead up to Chapter 7 is a pain in the (modded by me).

Now don't feel you need to have a 150 page detailed story of the entire game either. But make sure you list out a basic plan so you know where the game is going before starting.

3. Make a short game in the engine first