What were your experiences when learning to program?

CG-Tespy

Professional Persona Panderer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Spanish
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I had a pretty rough start. I started with RPG Maker 2003 (it has a visual scripting system, which is basically programming), but struggled with it despite the various tutorials. I couldn’t do much more than changing out visual and audio resources in my games, and I could hardly use its visual scripting system. I then moved onto Game Maker, and I started getting a better grasp of coding, though I learned very, very slowly. Perhaps it would’ve been better if I was able to afford the official book on learning the engine, but alas.

It was only when I started learning from a certain Python book, that I really started to learn coding at a decent pace. It really opened my eyes to the basics of thinking like a real programmer. From then on, things only got better as I got to where I am now. Here’s my Github page, if you’re interested in seeing some of what I’ve accomplished. I'd like to see you guys' Githubs, too.

So, fellow coders… What was it like for you to learn the craft?

ChampX

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I also started with RM 2003 way back in my high school days and I actually got the hang of things just from fiddling around with it over time. I remember making duplicate maps to handle branching decisions (i.e. dialog for do quest vs quest complete) until I accidentally discovered "conditional branch" option which was like an aha! moment. I think I learned variables/switches from an online blog but just about everything else with the engine was trial and error.

I then later learned VB in high school and RM 2k3 made that transition actually much easier. Then had a class on Game Maker 7 as well as HTML (if that counts). Finally I rounded off my senior year with some C++. I did also toy with RMXP on the side though.