When and how to (not) use music in a game?

mephet

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Game designing newbie here: one thing I've noticed myself get stuck on is the adding of music to my game, so I thought I'd ask for some help/thoughts from the community.

I'm primarily aiming to use premade royalty free music, since my own musical abilities are very limited and this forum and other sites have great composers who have made tracks available for this purpose. But even if I don't have to compose any music myself, the "music design" of my game still falls on me, and that's where I've been struggling. I realise music is a big part of the feel and mood of a game, and I've found a number of great musical themes for specific moments in my game. However, the majority of my dialogue- and exploration-heavy game is still without background music. At this stage I find myself asking:

* Is it possible for music to distract from the reading of dialogue? Is it a question of volume, or are there specific things to look out for in the music itself?
* Should background music be present all the time or are there moments when it's better not to use music? What kind of moments have you left without music (if any)? (Instead of music, I'm thinking of either silence or ambient background sounds (e.g. forest sounds in a forest scene).)
* What are some ways (if any) to make the "musical world" of the game feel cohesive when using premade tracks, which are sometimes from different composers?
* Much of the premade music I've found is quite melodic/epic -- have you found packs specifically for quiet, non-intrusive music e.g. for casual dialogue scenes?