When you don't have enough money for the inn...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iamaperson

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
EDIT: This issue has already been solved. Thank you everyone for the help.

Hi, so... I have another question now. Keeping in mind that I am a complete beginner with RPG Maker software so I don't know things that more experienced rpg makers probably understand well.

I have a magic tutor in my game who I want teaching one of my party members cura (an upgrade of cure - a healing spell). I want him to do this for a price because I don't want it to be that easy to get this new spell so easy early on in the game. But even when you don't have enough gold to buy the spell, he will still teach it to you regardless. This happens in my inns and shops as well and I have no idea how to fix it.

So I was wondering if someone with more expertise will be able to tell me how to fix this issue? Thanks!

Last edited:

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If you are doing it through regular shop processing, the player shouldn't be able to buy anything they can't afford.

But if all your inns and shops are evented, you've got to check the gold amount first, and make sure the gold amount is greater than the price. You can create an inn using a quick event (right-click on an unused tile and choose Quick Events from the popup menu, then Inn). Enter the price, and take a look at the event that it creates as a result. You'll see things like this ...

Putting the amount of gold the player has into a variable
Doing a Conditional Branch to check that the amount of gold (in the variable) is equal to or greater than the cost for the service or item
Reducing the party's gold by the cost of the service or item
A message if they don't have enough gold

If you create an inn quick event, you will be able to apply the same logic to evented shops, inns, or your magic tutor.

Iamaperson

Villager