Which Maker to buy?

Discussion in 'Product Discussion and Support' started by Codeex, Dec 6, 2018.

1. Codeex

Codeex Warper Member

First Language:
    Danish
    Primarily Uses:
    Other
    Hi there!

So i've been considering getting into game development, and the intuitive and "easy" way of doing it with RPG maker seems like a brilliant place to start. The thing is, im a student, with a hella of a thin wallet.
    Thus making my question rather simple.

If I buy the RPG Maker VX Ace - could i upgrade to RPG Maker MV later down the road, without having to pay full price again? - or is it two completely different softwares?

2. Kes

Kes Global Moderators Global Mod

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    It's 2 different engines which incompatible with each other so you would have to boy both. If you wait until after Christmas there might be a sale with big discounts.

3. Codeex

Codeex Warper Member

First Language:
    Danish
    Primarily Uses:
    Other
    Thank you for the fast reply! I will look into that!

4. Tuomo L

Tuomo L Oldbie Veteran

First Language:
    Finnish
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Skip Ace and buy MV instead.

5. Shaz

Shaz Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    MV is definitely the way to go if you can afford it. Grab the trial version for now (if you have time to start working with it), and play with it until it expires (20 days, I think). And keep an eye out for Steam sales, RPG Maker Web sales, and humble bundles.

6. Codeex

Codeex Warper Member

First Language:
    Danish
    Primarily Uses:
    Other
    Is the MV version on steam??

- And another question I might add. - When i buy MV, will i have all the assets as shown in most youtube videos? Or is that something i would have to spend money on elsewherE?

7. kamuipsyus

kamuipsyus Professional Murder Hobo Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV