Which RPG maker should you choose? (for a beginner)

VitaliiKey

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
UKR/RUS
Primarily Uses
N/A
Hello everyone, I saw discounts on Steam for RPG Maker, which interested me (the budget is limited to 11 euros), but I'm an absolute beginner in this business, so I don't know where to start, to choose from: XP, 2003, 2000 and VX (I also wanted MV and VC Ax, but I don’t want without additions).

Is there any significant difference in these versions? Pros, benefits, is it possible to make your own assets, or use only ready-made ones! I would be glad to receive your answers.

mlogan

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If you are limited to the older engines, I’d probably go with XP, as it seems to be the one still used the most of those, and you’d probably be able to still find a decent amount of resources available for it.

VitaliiKey

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
UKR/RUS
Primarily Uses
N/A
If you are limited to the older engines, I’d probably go with XP, as it seems to be the one still used the most of those, and you’d probably be able to still find a decent amount of resources available for it.
Thank you, i will try it!

Archeia

Level 99 Demi-fiend
Staff member
Developer
Reaction score
First Language
Filipino
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
All of them are viable but I highly recommend MZ or VXAce if you don't want the modern engines.

TeiRaven

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMXP