SGHarlekin

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I prefer the chiby most of the time because they are clearly made to look like that. Those stretched up sprites just look like big headed people. Those you got here are pretty good, though.

It also depends on the tilesets you're using. Some are bigger looking, and are a better fit for larger sprites. Some don't

devisous

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I've always perferred the smaller chibi sprites, but recently I have been taking a liking to the taller ones. (Staring at sprites on Pinterest..)

TinyRecorder

Tiny Steps & Rainy Stars
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
B, in the Dev shoes they're easier for me to work with as I am not a pixel artist. In the gamer shoes, well I'm just a sucker for smol and cute, call it my dumb bias.

TeiRaven

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMXP
Wow, I knew I was an outlier, but I didn't realize just how much! Style "A" all the way, over here. I am infinitely more likely to click on a game with tall sprites than I am on a game with chibi sprites.

My introduction to RPGs (not just RPG Maker, but RPGs at all) was during the RMXP-era, so that style hits my nostalgia buttons a lot more than the super-chibi style does--even though I recognize that the super-chibi style is meant to be "retro."

Beyond that, though, one of my favorite parts of game design is character design, and character design includes costume design. The more body the character has, the more costume I can show! With the shorter chibis, the bodies don't feel like they have as much room for detail. That extends to special animations as well--it's much harder to see that a sprite is waving when their arms are only three pixels long instead of six.

KazukiT

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ