Who would be interested in a better dungeon generator for RPG-Maker? (third-party)

Discussion in 'Useful Development Tools' started by Venima, Apr 20, 2019.

?

Would you like to see this turned into a configurable dungeon generator?

1. No. Don't waste your time on this.

1 vote(s)
    3.4%
  2. Yeah, that would be cool.

16 vote(s)
    55.2%
  3. Yes! So much yes! I need this!

12 vote(s)
    41.4%
  1. Venima

Venima Treasure experiences and sensations, not progress. Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    Note this post is not limited to MV users, it includes VX Ace, VX and possibly XP too.

So I'm a programmer not a map editor. My skills are in building systems and scripts, but without a rich map to fill with events my work goes to waste. Unfortunately the existing dungeon generator leaves a lot to be desired... I mean what happens when you don't want rectangular rooms or mazes?

So I hatched a crazy idea and decided to start building my own dungeon generator! Now this tool is still just a proof of concept at the moment, but here's what I've managed so far:

generatedSquares.png

Ok so all you can see are a mess of squares, that's not very interesting... But that's because I've only written the painting side of the program (I just told it to paint random squares with walls). The generator part of the program hasn't even been written yet. Now a dungeon generator is useless if you can't configure how it generates rooms, paths, scenery etc. so this is what I have in mind: For most users, a config panel with lots of options; for someone with scripting skills, the ability to tinker with the generation code itself (in JavaScript).