Worried about my own copyrights with RPG Maker

Discussion in 'Commercial Games Discussion' started by updog, Mar 20, 2014.

1. updog

updog Villager Member

Hi everyone!

First of all, I'm sorry if I posted this in the wrong sub-forum. While I didn't find any specific one this question might fit, I thought at least this is something many commercial developers have thought about.

I'm new here, planning to get into making games by hopefully finishing a horror/adventure title this year using RPG Maker VX Ace, though I'm not sure at this point whether or not make it free or commercial.

I've got a pretty good idea of what I want to do so far, but one jarring question remains: can I really not protect my own resources in anything I've made using said application?

My background is in music, and this game would base a lot of its focus on sound and music, which I feel are more or less the most important part of the horror genre. I really don't want people to just be able to click one folder within the game's files and get access to everything I've produced, and using them in something of their own. You might say, "well, it would be illegal anyways so most people wouldn't do it anyway," or something else perhaps along the lines of "do you really think your stuff would be so great someone would want to steal it?" I think those points are irrelevant, though. You should be able to have your art files protected, if you so wish.