Would an RPG maker video game store work?

Discussion in 'Commercial Games Discussion' started by IanCR, Sep 1, 2015.

1. IanCR

IanCR Villager Member

First Language:
    Spanish
    Hello everyone,

I am a web designer and I love video games. Specially RPGs and MMORPGs. So I had this idea, I am aware that it is legal to sell RPG maker games as long as you bought the software and all the assents are not copyrighted by someone else.

I read a few threads about selling RPG maker games were game creators were having trouble setting up payment gateways, finding places to advertise their game or even a place to sell it. I know it is very hard for new developers to get accepted on steam and even if they get accepted is very hard to be noticed among the many other games steam already has.

So here is my question, I have experience creating websites, managing SEO (Search Engine Optimization) to rank in Google results, and managing several eCommerce platforms. It would be easy for me to create a website were people can buy downloadable games.

But before I do this I want to know if there is enough demand. So what do you think people? Would you like to have a website exclusively to sell RPG maker games? Were you can get paid lets say via paypall every time someone guys your game? You would justh ave to register, upload your game for revision and then you would receive payment every time it sells.

As a developer I know it is hard to focus on development and publishing at the same time. So that's why I came up with this idea.

Constructive comments appreciated. :)

JosephSeraph likes this.
  2. Shaz

Shaz Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    There have been a number of people who have come here and offered the same thing.

The thing is, for you to be at all appealing, you would have to have an already-established site that's currently bringing in heaps of traffic.