Would you play a visual novel without graphics?

Would you play a VN with no graphics?

• Yes, regardless of whether there's a story-related reason or not

Votes: 6 26.1%
  • Yes, but only if it's related to the story

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, visual novels are supposed to have visuals

Votes: 17 73.9%

• Total voters
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I like visual novels and thought about making one several times. The problem is I'm not good at finding the right graphic resources and I'm not a very good artist. So would you play a visual novel type game even if it didn't have graphics? What if the reason for no graphics was story-related like the MC was blind?

By the way, I mean just background and characters, where would still be a title screen and all that.

Slimsy Platypus

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
I think there's potential, but if it was solely text then the question beckons: why are you making a game/VN? If it is just text, shouldn't that be a book? [rhetorical question]

I do however think there is a ton of potential for a minimalist game with really basic 2D resources. As with all games it will all depend on how you implement it. I bet with a little work, you could do something very cool with the default assets that come with RPG maker!

The game Sorcery! come to mind. I provided a link to the game below so you can check out the visual style. In short, that is a great example of a super successful & fun to play game with pretty minimal 2D graphics (story\text driven). Check it out and keep us posted with the progress on your game!

http://www.inklestudios.com/sorcery/

Last edited:

The Mighty Palm

Resident Palm Tree
Restaff
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
Honestly, no, I wouldn't. One of the things I didn't like about Orange Season was the lack of character portraits.

Now, the blind thing...
It sounds like an idea, but you'd need some good sound design to make up for the lack of visuals.