Yanfly Doodads as a built in feature

Discussion in 'Editor Suggestions and Improvement' started by PixelHeart, Feb 12, 2017.

?

Would you like this feature?

1. Yes

177 vote(s)
    88.5%
  2. No

5 vote(s)
    2.5%
  3. Yes, but not important

18 vote(s)
    9.0%
  1. PixelHeart

PixelHeart The Pixel Heartist! Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    Other
    Description of the Feature:
    • I would like to humbly propose that a feature similar to Yanflys Doodads Plugin be implemented into the engine.

Code for Implementation:

I am not a programmer, and so could not begin to imagine how one would go about programing this undoubtedly complex feature into the engine. However, I would think Yanflys Plugin might be a decent place to start.

Mockups:
    I don't think I can really "show" how this would work...its basically parallax mapping, only without having to build the map in an exterior editor. You would simply be able to click the b-e tile(s) you need, and place it on the map anywhere of grid, and you can reselect it and move it around as needed.

Why is this feature good?
    This feature is great because of the following:
    • It would make building more organic looking maps even easier. It would have the freedom provided by Yanflys plugin of being able to place tiles free of the grid, with none of the finicky shuffling through windows, or having to make individual "doodads" files.
    • Simply click the tile(s) in the tile pallet, and click and place it on the map, and move it as needed.
    • It would (should) be more resource friendly on a project.

Possible issues with this feature?
    Issues that might arise from this feature:
    • I suppose there might be some conflict with the way layers work, right now in the engine as it stands.